Log in

Codes and Standards

In general, DoorSafety's information and citations regarding code requirements for egress and fire doors are based on the following editions of these codes and standards:

  • National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

o NFPA 80, Standard for Fire Doors and Other Opening Protectives, 2016 edition
o NFPA 101, Life Safety Code, 2015 edition
o NFPA 105, Standard for Smoke Door Assemblies and Other Opening Protectives, 2016 edition
o NFPA 1, Fire Code, 2015 edition

  • International Code Council (ICC)

o IBC, International Building Code, 2015 edition
o IFC, International Fire Code, 2015 edition
o ICC/ANSI A117.1 Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities, 2009 edition

You can view the above listed codes and standards by clicking on the links. To view NFPA codes and standards online, you will need to create a user account on their website. Access to these codes and standards is free to all interested parties.

Another informational resource that you might find helpful is published on the ConstructConnect website. Click here to go to their free online Building Code directory. ConstructConnect catalogs the building code(s) used by state and city; you can search their directory to learn which codes are applicable in your area.

CAUTION: Do not rely solely on the information contained in ConstructConnect's database--or any online database--to provide the most up-to-date information. Contact the appropriate authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) to verify which building, fire, life safety, and accessibility codes are applicable to a specific building and facility.   

Prior to 2005, most buildings were designed and built under one of the former building codes; these codes are collectively referred to as legacy codes. It's important to remember that the original building code for a specific building or structure contained requirements for fire and egress doors at the time of construction. Many of the code requirements for egress and fire doors were substantially the same between the legacy codes, but there were some notable differences. For example, the Uniform Building Code (UBC) was the first building code to require certain types of swinging fire doors to be positive pressure fire door tested; the National Building Code (NBC) and the Standard Building Code (SBC) did not. All of the legacy codes referred to NFPA 80, Standard for Fire Doors and Fire Windows (NFPA 80's title prior to the 2007 edition) for installation, care, and maintenance of fire door assemblies.

  • Legacy (former) Building Codes:

o National Building Code (NBC) published by the Building Officials and Code Administrators International (BOCA)—Last edition was published in 1999.
o Standard Building Code (SBC) published by the Southern Building Code Congress International (SBCCI)—Last edition was published in 1999.
o Uniform Building Code (UBC) published by the International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO)—Last edition was published in 1997.

Copyright © 2024 Safe Doors Save Lives Foundation, Inc (dba Door Safety). All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software